Disclaimer : As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

It is impossible for us readers to not look for a book that tackles our fancy in an insightful and innovative way. There are a lot of books out there that might do the job and that’s what I think is best about literary entertainment. Some books might challenge the preconceptions of their own field while others might just be thought-provoking. One such peculiar book is 1984.

First of all, let’s talk about the author and the storyline of this book. It was written by George Orwell and was published in the year 1949. This simply explains that the book had something to talk about our future and if you think so then you aren’t wrong. It actually spoke about the political and bureaucratic future while presenting the author’s beliefs along with a marvelous storyline.

The author has tried to put forward the story of a person who wishes to seek individuality and his perception has actually fascinated the readers to quite an extent. The best thing I found about this book is the portrayal of society and his own ideas. This is why a lot of its fans wish to read books that resemble this one and I wouldn’t blame them as it actually is fascinating. So here is a list of books like 1984 that might grab your attention.

11 Books like 1984

#1. The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby

This book is written by F. Scott Fitzgerald. An American classic with the most attractive storyline of all and it has been around in a manner that has been adored by a lot of its fans. The storyline is very interesting and is considered one of the best books of the Jazz Age. The book shows off a well-hung guy named Jay Gatsby who had his likes for Daisy Buchanan and the book presents an exquisite tale of America in the ‘20s.

The author goes on to say bold things like sex is the national obsession of the era and gin, the national drink. The times that are brought forward by the author in this timeless classic are the ones that might mesmerize you quite deeply. The book moves forward as a perspective of an aspiring writer named Nick Carraway who is working as a stockbroker for the time being. He moves in as neighbors to the great Gatsby and the affairs and parties are just what blows the reader away as the storyline moves on.

#2. Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

This book is written by Jane Austin. And I think this timeless classic is much more than just a romance novel, just like 1984 is considered much more than one based on dystopian fantasy. It has remained through the favorites of most of its readers through all this time which I think is really impressive. A lot of people think that this is a book for fat cats but I don’t think that’s true.

It can be appreciated by all sorts of readers and the storyline just works out. It is a flawless masterpiece and I think all the respect it has earned is what it actually deserves. The love affair between Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy is just an exciting this to read about. It all just works out to be great as she has too much prejudice while Darcy has too much pride. The romantic clash of the two presents a storyline that is fairly new to most readers.

#3. Angels & Demons

Angels & Demons

This book is written by Dan Brown. It is absolutely another classic in the list like the two above it and those who are familiar with the works of Dan Brown, would definitely know what they are getting themselves into by starting this book. It is always going to be that great piece of a book incorporating symbology with the field of history that would appeal to all sorts of readers.

It revolves around Robert Langdon, the world know symbologist who has a sharp mind and is summoned because a murdered physicist was found with a cryptic symbol on his chest. He figures out a lot of details but what might rock you to your very core is the information that there is a secret act of war waged against the Catholic Church by the Illuminati. Now Langdon has to race through time to uncover this secret organization or it might destroy the Vatican forever.

#4. To Kill a Mockingbird

To Kill a Mockingbird

This book is written by Harper Lee. I think it is absolutely impossible for any reader to not hear about this book as it has been around for a long time. In the year 1960, since it was first published, this book has been a fan favorite and the book is an obvious classic. It is an inspirational read and takes you down to the very roots of human behavior.

It was even cinematized due to its increasing fandom and interesting concept. It revolves around a girl named Scout who lives with her father Atticus and brother Jem. Atticus is a lawyer in the story and their family is more fortunate than most in their community. The storyline presents a great experience to the reader which eventually helps them through the way of empathy and kindness while staying away from prejudice.

#5. The Hobbit

The Hobbit

This book is written by J. R. R. Tolkien. I think almost everyone might be familiar with Lord of the Rings due to its bold and powerful storyline and interesting outcomes. But what we need to know about this is the fact that the whole Lord of the Rings story was possible only because of this children’s book published by Tolkien as a fun read.

The masterpiece of a book tells the story of the hobbit, Bilbo Baggins. He is the cousin of Frodo Baggins as introduced in the main trilogy. The book takes us on the adventures lived by Bilbo along with his companions consisting of Gollum, Gandalf the wizard, and certain dwarves on a place known as Middle-earth. Give this book a go if you are interested in this introductory book to the main characters of the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

#6. The Alchemist

The Alchemist

This book is written by Paulo Coelho. And if we are talking of timeless classics, how can we miss out on the Alchemist. The readers who have been a fan of 1984 have often loved the Alchemist as well and it is pretty obvious why. The self-discovery based book actually helps in shaping up the perspective of the reader. The final moral is built up using a number of smaller moral epiphanies that will enlighten you.

The story revolves around a shepherd who has a dream of a hidden treasure beneath the pyramids of Egypt. He then sets off on a journey to find the treasure where he has to go through a number of difficulties. He even finds love on the way but leaves it behind to return to his journey. He finally meets people near the pyramids who bring him to the realization that the treasure was all the way back where he started from and concludes its marvelous moral education. If you haven’t read it already, I would recommend giving it a go.

#7. The Metamorphosis

The Metamorphosis: books like 1984

This book is written by Franz Kafka. And I think the title attracted me a lot. The way the story is presented in this book is exactly what any reader who has read 1984 would be looking for. Try checking this book out if you wish to be inspired as the author will help you through a very important life lesson. The storyline is really appealing and any dedicated reader would love to go through it at least once.

The book revolves around Gregor Samsa who gets transformed into an insect after waking up from a night of uncomfortable dreams. The author describes how Gregor feels and what he actually sees after turning into an insect. It has great comic timing yet it brings into light some serious issues faced by the young man. The transformational journey of the character through the book exhibiting his emotions at different turns is very enlightening.

#8. Romeo and Juliet

Romeo and Juliet

This book is written by William Shakespeare. Well, I think it would be an insult to the name of Shakespeare if we didn’t include Romeo and Juliet in this list including many of the timeless classics. It is obviously a tale of love and one of the best fiction books that you can read. And I think that you would actually love it after reading 1984 for getting a fresh and powerful perspective.

Although I think most of the readers already know what this book is but I would still like to discuss some details. The book discusses the love affair of the aforementioned Romeo and his lover, Juliet. They come from families that are of opposing natures and they disapprove of the love of this couple. The book very elegantly describes the condition of their society at that moment and the struggles these two lovers have to go through.

#9. David Copperfield

David Copperfield

This book is written by Charles Dickens. And I have noticed that a lot of people have suggested to me that I should read this book after 1984. And as I am an enthusiastic reader myself, I gave it a go. I found it to be extremely motivating and gave me an optimistic outlook by the end of it. Dickens is obviously a great author and the book too was an absolute masterpiece with some of his personal childhood stories included in it as well.

The book revolves around the character mentioned in the title itself, David Copperfield. It initially starts with the birth of David while discussing his mother’s recollections on the night he was born to his very first memories into the world and so on. The book continues to put forward one tragedy after the other which might seem depressing at first but the final outcomes really give the reader a brighter perspective.

#10. Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights

This book is written by Emily Bronte. Well, to be honest, I haven’t read this book yet but I have been recommended to go through this one a couple of times. Like every reader’s tendency to check up on a book before they read it, I have already checked an overview of this book and I really liked it which is why it is in my list of the next books to be read. The work of the author on the storyline is extremely admirable.

The book is great to be used as a reference to the current culture and although it seems a little predictable, its characters aren’t and it is still one of the best books you can read. The story revolves around a boy, Heath, from a poor family who falls in love with a rich girl, Cathy. It is interesting to see their love affair that has to go through so many problems and yet remains firm. The book has lived for nearly 2 centuries which obviously means it was quite ahead of its time and really amazing to go through.

#11. Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre

This book is written by Charlotte Bronte. It is the last book on the list but it doesn’t lie here as a disrespect. There are a lot of great books out there and this is one of them. The story revolves around love and some of the obstacles it may pose. It has obviously been a timeless book that has a revolutionary storyline to travel through. The way it presents the picture of love really makes me want to fall as well.

The story of Jane Eyre is one that will warm your very soul. Jane was brought up by her cruel aunt and then she joins a school as a teacher on her first teaching job. The school was owned by Mr. Rochester and here the story of a classic love begins. Mr. Rochester is keeping some unacceptable secrets but Jane doesn’t know about any of this until she falls deeply in love with him. The obstacles put forward are pretty difficult and it is rather a curious thing to see if Jane can make it through.

I hope I was able to provide you with a mind-blowing list of books that are similar to 1984 and all of these books are a part of my personal recommendation as I have read most of them and had references of the others. If the content was helpful, please drop a comment below or leave a like on the post.